Maurice O’Shea Award

The late wine commentator Max Lake once asked about the great Maurice O’Shea: “How will history deal with his reputation when the wines and friends are gone?” Initiated in 1990, the now triennial Maurice O’Shea Award commemorates and pays homage to the legendary Maurice O’Shea.

Described by leading wine critic, James Halliday as “…the highest honour the Australian wine industry can confer on one of its members,” the Maurice O’Shea Award is presented to an individual, group, corporation or entity that has made a significant contribution to the Australian Wine Industry.

…the highest honour the Australian wine industry (through McWilliam’s) can confer on one of its members

– James Halliday

The Maurice O’Shea Award is awarded at an event held every three years and is attended by more than 250 people across the Australian wine industry.


2019 Robert Hill-Smith

2016 Len Evans Tutorial

2014 Dr Peter Dry

2012 Australian Screwcap Initiative

2010 Mr Phillip Laffer

2008 Dr John Gladstones

2006 The late Dr Ray Beckwith OAM

2004 Mr Guenter Prass AM

2002 Australian Wine Research Institute

2000 Dr Wolf Blass AM

1998 The late Dr Bryce Rankine AM

1997 Mr Brian Croser OA

1996 Mrs Hazel Murphy AM

1995 Mr James Halliday AM

1994 The Jacob’s Creek Brand

1993 The late David Wynn AO

1992 The late Ron Potter AM

1991 The late Len Evans OBE AO

1990 The late Max Schubert AM